Comic Block May 2016 – Review
Follow Subscription box: Comic Block
Company: Nerd Block Inc.
Month: May 2016
Price: $19.99

Comic Block May 2016 – Review

User Score
10.0
(1 votes)
Click to vote
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)

The mystery of not knowing how things will turn out is a thrill many of us seek and treasure. For a large part, the mystery subscription boxes do a pretty stellar job at delivering that exact thrill. Revealing its contents, surely but slowly, is exhilarating but it’s more fun when you have some idea of its content – or at least the general theme of the goodies. The Comic Block delivers exclusive and non-exclusive comics and goodies of famous comic book characters in a monthly mystery box so it brings up that same feeling.

Comic Block banner

For those of you who are new to the scene of subscription boxes, the definition is that the box is a package of retail products, sent directly to the customer on a recurring basis varying in cost and frequency. Reading this, we realize this must sound abstract to novices of the subscription box scene but it’s as easy as 1-2-3. For Nerd Block’s sub boxes such as the Classic, Arcade, Horror and Sci-Fi, you may a monthly fee and a box is sent to your address for the duration of your subscription. Inside this mystery block, you’ll find the obligatory T-shirt (often from ShirtPunch), and a range of goodies from the theme you’ve picked out. Aside from the T-shirt, the Comic Block always come with two to three comics and some merchandise from the common known comics. This month’s block features some great goodies from the Marvel universe.

comic block may16 001

  • Exclusive Shirt Punch X-men Apocalypse T-shirt feature the villain himself
  • Penguin Dorbz vinyl figure
  • Avengers 2 4-pack wacky bobble-head wobblers
  • Tank Girl #1 comic with a variant cover
  • Punisher #1 comic with an exclusive Comic Block variant cover

comic block may16 004

Kicking off the overall theme of the box, in this case Marvel, is the exclusive Shirt Punch shirt featuring the villain from X-men Apocalypse, the man behind the destruction and chaos, Apocalypse himself. As always, Shirt Punch delivers shirts that fit great and are 100% cotton so it’s safe to say that the fabric itself is superb. The design itself is fine but it will leave many non-geeks wondering what the shirt is all about as Apocalypse is nowhere near famous as the X-men themselves are. Still, it’s a great shirt we’d be happy to wear. We do have one small comment on the shirts we’ve received so far; they’re all black. Switching up the colors would be a welcomed change. Typically these shirts are priced around $10.

comic block may16 002

This is our third Comic Block and so far, all three boxes carried Funko vinyl figures. For this month, we’ve received a Dorbz vinyl figure of Penguin, one of the super-villains Batman always has to face during his sweep of Gotham. The information card states that “you just need to partner up with the Joker and Catwoman so that the terrorizing trio will be on the rampage again” and we sincerely hope that this means we’ll be seeing more of these Dorbz in the nearby future. These adorable Dorbz figures generally have a $10 price-tag but certain price guides claim it to be worth $6.

The Wacky Wobbler: Avengers 2 Mini Wacky Wobbler 4-pack is yet another Funko item and includes the four iconic characters from the Avengers: Thor, Hulk, Captain America and Iron Man. These figures are about 3 to 3 1/2 inches tall and yes, they’re bobble heads so they’ll approve of whatever you do. The fact that they come in a displayable and stylish window box is only a plus for collectors that refuse to free their figures. Prices for the pack varies from $10 to a stunning $37 but the average seems to be about $19.99.

comic block may16 003

Le moment supreme, the moment we’ve all been waiting for; the comics! Both comics are exclusive variants and both designs are simply great for framing. Tank Girl has returned with a limited series in the form of  Tank Girl: Two Girls One Tank and is priced at $3.99 with its first edition coming out this month.

Frank Castle, better known as The Punisher, has made a stunning appearance in the second season of Netflix’ Daredevil. Its comic book version, The Punisher #1 ($3.99) dives deeper into the how’s and why’s of Frank’s crusade in Hell’s Kitchen and is a superb addition to this month’s block.

Conclusion

Costing $19.99 excluding shipping, the Comic Block generally offers a decent value. Compared to the April edition, this month’s block value is slightly higher and as a huge fan of the X-men franchise and the Marvel universe in general, we have thoroughly enjoyed this month’s block. We’re really looking forward to the mix in next month as the next box will be sporting items of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Deadpool and Spider-Gwen.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
Comic Block May 2016 - Review, 10.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating
Drydwen
Drydwen


Hi! I'm Jess and I’m a writer, dreamer and gamer at heart since the early ages. I primarily game on PC but occasionally also on PS4 and Xbox One. I have a tiny obsession for World of Warcraft and caterpillars but you may also claim I have a devoted passion for the gaming industry in general. If you want to hit me up, find me on twitter!

No Comments

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.