ToeJam & Earl: Back in the Groove! released today

ToeJam & Earl: Back in the Groove! released today

The funkadelic action roguelike series ToeJam & Earl from HumaNature Studios has returned for a fourth installment in the series. Dubbed as ToeJam & Earl: Back in the Groove! the series has returned with a new adventure on Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC.

ToeJam & Earl: Back in the Groove! is a fresh take on the original Sega Genesis classic in which players have crash-landed on Earth by accidentally pressing the “Black Hole – DO NOT PRESS” button. By doing so, both Earth and the Rapmaster Rocket have been shattered into pieces. The ship parts are hidden throughout procedurally generated levels, each filled with numerous goofy secrets, but you’ll need to learn to love, or to hate, the Earthlings while venturing the bits and pieces of land.

“Our fans have waited a long time for a true sequel to the original Toejam & Earl game,” said Greg Johnson, founder of HumaNature Studios. “We’ve taken elements from Panic on Funkotron as well, and updated it all with fresh graphics, great funkadelic music, and an absolute ton of new features that emphasize replayability and multiplayer fun. I couldn’t be happier with how this game has turned out. I’m hoping our fans will feel like it’s just what they’ve been waiting for!”

Starting off with the title of being a “Weiner?”, players can rake in XP to rank up and gain new titles. Each rank increases the character’s stats such as speed, health, present skill, search skill, inventory size, and luck. Improving your character will make it much more likely that you will return to Funkotron, eventually, as classic Earthlings like the Insane Dentist and Ice Cream Truck will do anything in their power to mess up your plans. There’s a full roster of nine characters, each with their own stats and abilities. This in combination with the 50 or so modern Earthlings like the Internet Trolls and Texting Person that roam the planet, ensures that you’re in for a long ride.

Last but certainly not least, the game offers both local and online multiplayer mode so you can team up with up to three of your friends to rebuild the Rapmaster Rocket. Don’t forget to check out the trailer below and indulge in the great Funkadelic music.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)

Hi! I'm Jess and I’m a writer, dreamer and gamer at heart since the early ages. I primarily game on PC but occasionally also on PS4 and Xbox One. I have a tiny obsession for World of Warcraft and caterpillars but you may also claim I have a devoted passion for the gaming industry in general. If you want to hit me up, find me on twitter!

No Comments

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.