All you need to know about the FIFA 20 Global Series

FIFA 20 Global Series is staged exclusively on PS4 and Xbox One


The FIFA 20 Global Series is back, giving budding FIFA 20 eSports players­—both amateurs and professionals alike—a chance to try and qualify for this year’s FIFA eWorld Cup. 2019’s FIFA Global Series was well-received worldwide, with an ever-growing number of players seeking to get involved in the circuit and reach the eWorld Cup, with all the spotlight and potential riches that entails.

If you are entirely unfamiliar with the concept of the FIFA 20 Global Series, but you’re keen to learn more about how you can play FIFA 20 at a competitive level, read on as we delve deeper into the major competitive events in the Global Series schedule.

How to get started

First and foremost, players wishing to take part in the Global Series need to be FUT Champions Verified. Players must have registered by the end of January 2020 for eligibility for this season; they must also scoop a minimum of 27 victories on a single weekend when taking part in FUT Champions Weekend League. Players must also be aged 16 and above at the time of registration.

Providing players meet all of the above eligibility criteria, they will be able to enter the Global Series regular season, which spans a host of tournaments and leagues staged by FIFA, EA Sports and other partners. Let’s take a look at the main events to be scheduled during the FIFA 20 Global Series, as players embark on emulating the achievements of MoAuba, who was crowned Champion of FIFA 19:

The FUT Champions Cup

There will be six FUT Champions Cup events hosted throughout this year’s Global Series; three of these are already set to be staged in Bucharest, and the remaining three will be hosted by another event partner at a soon-to-be-announced destination. Each event welcomes up to 32 entrants on PS4 and Xbox One, with $200,000 prize pools offered for each event, as well as a chance to earn Global Series Points for successful finishes.

Official League Qualifying Tournaments

Last year, the English Premier League (EPL) was added to the Global Series for the first time with an ePremier League Tournament. It’s likely that this will remain on the schedule for 2020, due to the huge take-up of entrants and broadcast appeal, with eSports events reaching the big screen around the world.

There’s even an eChampions League version of the real thing. While the likes of Manchester City and Liverpool lead the way in the real Champions League winner odds this term, contenders for the eChampions League can come from all over the world. Last year’s winner was a New Yorker, Christopher “NYC_Chris” Holly, who took home the $100,000 first prize.

All countries that are FIFA Member Associates will also have the option of staging an eMA Trophy Tournament for their compatriots at some point during the Global Series, with up to 200 Global Series points on offer.

PS4-exclusive Country Tournaments

Meanwhile, PlayStation themselves will be staging several Global Series events exclusively online, open to all players in eligible countries. Again, these tournaments will also have up to 200 Global Series points up for grabs for tournament winners.

FUT Champions Weekend League

Players that are FUT Champions Verified can also play the Weekend League throughout the Global Series, giving them the chance to add another 30 Global Series points to their tallies. Only a player’s best results from one Weekend League per month can be used. If you win 27 or more games in a single Weekend League, that could be enough to bag you 30 Global Series points.

Global Series Playoffs

The Playoffs are where the big bucks are up for grabs


The schedule culminates in an exciting finale with the Global Series Playoffs—the last leg on the Road to the 2020 FIFA eWorld Cup. At this stage, the highest-ranked 64 players on both the PS4 and Xbox One will be invited to enter the PS4 or Xbox One Global Series Playoff for a final opportunity to earn a place at the eWorld Cup, as well as up to $75,000 in prize money.

With new eligible countries being added all the time, such as Egypt, Vietnam, Ecuador and Uruguay, more FIFA 20 players than ever are being able to take part in the Global Series and a chance to become part of eSports royalty.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
All you need to know about the FIFA 20 Global Series, 10.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating

Aspiring ninja.

No Comments

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.